Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Newbie Reloader Asks "What's a good Powder for .357 pistols?&#

salemsm

First off, I am a Reloading Newbie trying to accumulate my Reloading stash in the midst of shortages everywhere. On backorder, I have

2K of BERRY'S CAST BULLETS 38CAL 158GR SWC (for both .357 mag/.38 spl)

1K of Federal Magnum Small Pistol Primers (for .357 mag)

1K of Federal Small Pistol Primers (for .38 spl)

In searching the wastelands of the internet to find Power, I found some that I could actually order ... and it's called Clays from Hodgdon.

In doing some research, I found out that this is one of the faster burn-rate powders on the market and therefore not forgiving to the reloading newcomer.

I have heard that for newbies, better to start with 231, No. 5 or Power Pistol.

I have also heard that some bullet/powder/caliber combinations work better than others. I've got the bullet (158GR SWC) and the caliber (.38 spl/.357 mag). What would be recommendations for mid/slow burning powder for a newbie?

H-110 works very well for me in the .357 mag using magnum primers and 158gr JHP's. I'm guessing your "cast" bullets mean they're lead and not jacketed, though. Generally speaking, I don't like to use lead bullets above 1000 fps due to leading of the barrel. You can still do it, just means more cleaning, which I'm averse to.........

As for .38spl, I don't have a lot to offer mainly because my revolver shoots everything pretty well, especially with the lighter .38spl loads, so I tend to load the .38spl's with whatever I have extra and then plink with it... it's usually powders I was experimenting with and ended up not liking too much. Kind of my garbage disposal round, I guess! Just loaded a bunch of +p loads with 2400 that was taking up space in my bench, so I'll see how that goes.

Clays is a great powder for .45acp, though, so it might work okay for .38spl.