Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Mike Seeklander's Competition 1 class-

LoLeft

Let me start by saying I am a middle of the road C shooter in Production and SS in ESP. I started shooting IDPA 11 months ago and was bitten by the competition bug immediately. I have only missed 2 matches (shooting one every weekend) and if there was a 5th weekend on the month then I was practicing at the range. In October of 2012 I shot my first USPSA match and everything changed! This is where I would spend the rest of my weekends! Now, having said all of this Mike's class was commissioned by our local IDPA club and I jumped at the chance to get some more professional instruction.

I really didn't know what to expect. Mike has some self defense shows on TV so I may have had some preconceived notions as what to expect even though it was a "Competition" class. Mike's class WAAAAY exceeded my expectations. There are a lot of great shooters out there that teach classes. What impressed me the most is that Mike is a great instructor that is also a great shooter! His class covers the obvious basics in competition, grip, stance, etc. He also covered the mental aspect of the game which I thought was great. He covers foot work, transitions, practice drills that make you think. Stage breakdown, stage markers and visualization. The class was IDPA heavy with students and there were a few of us that were more focused on USPSA. MIke did a GREAT job of covering both games.