Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

is this an acceptable time for reload?

halogrinder

I am a noob IDPA shooter, but have been shooting all my life.

please review this video for me, and tell me what i could be doing better/faster.

all shots were "A" shots, no wild ones.

the shot timer was off of my phone, i was trying to use a 2.7 par time..... and was trying to react to the buzzer, thats why my shot has a gap before i reload.

thanks!

http://contour.com/videos/watch/reloads

http://contour.com/stories/reoads-2

now, i know these arent the best videos, but any help is better than no help :)

• 2 weeks later...

It's tought to judge the first video..

Not sure why your waiting so long before starting the reload..

The most important thing about the reload is to start it as soon as the bullet lives the barrel

You want the gun to lift in recoil right into your thumb as you hit the mag release..

You actual arm movement looks smooth but could be a bit faster.

Set your timer to 1.6 that's about what you ant to push for.

That's not the fastest but its respectable :)

Took me a second to figure out what you were doing in the video, but I think I understand now. I would recommend changing the way you practice your reloads.

First, much of the work you are doing there could and should be done in dryfire first. You have to learn some new habits and unlearn some old ones. A good habit to learn would be seeing what you need to see to call your shot then immediately transitioning to your reload motion. In your video, waiting to respond to the beep is most likely building up a bad habit. So in dryfire, I would practice dropping the hammer (while seeing the sights and following through), then reloading, then reacquiring the sights and pulling the trigger all in one smooth exercise.