Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Getting a grip on recoil

Psynapse

Well... this started as me testing out new recoil springs and ended up different direction. I noticed something other than the gun. The recoil is pushing me back and my arms are lifting.

Let me first say;

1) I'm new at this.

2) I'm finally starting to see my front sight lift (ya... I did blink on the first round in the vid)

3) I'm always trying to improve my grip and stance

4) On a good day, soaking wet, I'm 5'11", 160lbs with "not so strong" arms(I'm working on this)

I thought I had my grip and stance pretty much worked out.

- Weak hand wrist locked forward.

- Pretty decent grip pressure

- I'm trying to get nose over toes, so to speak.

- I'm trying to not lock my elbows, ie arms straight out.

But I can definitely see in the video that my head and upper torso is being pushed back a fair amount and my arms are pivoting up at the shoulders. This appears to allow the muzzle of the gun to rise more than it should and disturbs my vision. I notice this problem shooting pairs. The followup shot is awkward and it has always felt like it takes forever for the gun to come back down.

I watch other shooters, who are at a level I would like to achieve, both in real life and their vids and it always looks like the gun is recoiling backwards and their arms are "piston-ing" , bending at their elbows. And the recoil never seems to affect their heads.

I'm lost as to what I should be doing. Elbows out? Unlock my elbows more? Stiffen my arms and shoulders more so they don't pivot up? Lean waaay the heck forward? What should be "relaxed"?

Any tips or things to try would be appreciated.

Edited by Psynapse