Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

It's all the fundamentals...

The more I shoot the more I go back and work on the fundamentals. I know it's cliche but so true. I've been working on my draw lately... and it's so hard to get a really consistent draw/grip. When I get a bad one it always effects my time or my hits. Damn it's so hard.

The more I shoot the more I go back and work on the fundamentals. I know it's cliche but so true. I've been working on my draw lately... and it's so hard to get a really consistent draw/grip. When I get a bad one it always effects my time or my hits. Damn it's so hard.

the other day i couldn't realize why when i drew on 5 steel, i was having a hard time. i was rapidly firing off shots, but it was taking like 8 or 9 shots for 5 steel.

i started shooting paper and realized i'm not a very good shot. :roflol: i spent about 75 rounds shooting groups until i was happy with it and went back to drill 1. 5/5 everytime.

i have a love/HATE relationship with the fundamentals.

And It wasn't until I bought Captain of Crush grippers that I realized just how deficient my grip was.........

Ah, the list goes on. However after I finally realized that imperfect fundamentals cannot be rectified by special loads, different powders, firing pin stop radius, and different springs, I was able to make some improvement.

It's not the arrow.

The more I shoot the more I NEED to focus on the fundamentals. Without constant physical focus the fundamentals just deteriorate with each round downrange - the whole practice makes permanent but only perfect practice makes perfect deal.