Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How would solve this problem?

Nimitz

So I'm fairly new to competitive shooting and have shot a total of 4 matches since Jan. I've taken Mike Seeklander's competitive handgun training class & am 3/4 of the way through phase I of his 3 phase 18 week training program. I'm very happy with my progress of learning & being able to execute in a match all the skills I've been learning with one glaring exception which I'm failing completely at. That is, the ability to call my shots & take immediate back-up shots when necessary. Worse, I'm catching myself taking backup shots from time to time because I'm visually scoring the targets during the stage. So my question is simple ... what kinds of drills can I do to learn how to call my shots?

The only drill I'm aware of is something I saw on a Youtube video from someone on the Army shooting team. His drill was to set up a paper target next to you & then proceed to draw & fire 2 shots downrange to a target. Then without looking downrange put a paster on the traget next to you where you think each shot went based on what your sights told you & then compare that to your actual hits ...

I don't know the best way to learn this but for me using a ruger mark 2 22lr pistol and really concentrating on exactly where the sights are when it goes off Helped a lot!

The good thing about the Ruger mark 2 is that the front sight is on the barrel so its a lot easier to watch and see exactly when it starts to move up rather then on a gun with the sights on the slide. To start off with I did not aim at anything I just pointed it down range and watched the front sight and pulled the trigger really slow and smooth watching for exactly when it started to move. after I felt like I could tell exactly when it started to move then I started aiming at targets and still was focusing on seeing when the sight moved and then just remember where it was when it started to move.