Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

.22 Training question

KungFuNerd

This actually applies to Dryfire too...

With .22 do you try to shoot at (or close to) the Tempo you can do with your regular Caliber or do you shoot as fast as you can see the sights?

I've been doing a combination of the two.

I do some practice where I am pushing as fast as I can possibly go and then when I go back to realistic speeds it seems very slow (in a good way).

On the other hand, I catch myself rushing sometimes....

I'm a musician.

Should I try to get used to what my 'true capable speed" is and burn that in?

Or just more of a never shoot faster than you can see approach?

Thanks

KFN

As this sport is all about shooting as accurately as you can as fast as you can, I would train using the "throttle control" that you have available, which is your front sight. If you burn into your mind a "true natural speed", getting faster than that may become very difficult. If you shoot as fast as your front sight allows, it will not matter what tempo you shoot at, the shot will always break at the earliest possible moment.

Reading Steve Anderson's book or Ben Stoger's webpage, they suggest that .22 traing be done at a much greater difficulty than your normal caliber training would be. They will set up non falling steel at 25+ yards or go for the upper A zone on paper targets, etc.

I plan on buying a .22 to train with, but I will be mostly using it to work on movement and transition drills. Only one shot per target should take the reduced recoil out of the equation.

edited to correct Trademark infringement (part that is put on open gun that thumb rests to control recoil, a.k.a the pedal that controls the speed of your car).

Edited by Bunchies95

I agree with Bunchies

I have ponderd the same question.

shoot that sucker as fast as you can see, dont train yourself to hold back for some percieved time you think you shoot some other gun.