Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What causes this kind of Feed Jam ?

Jumbo30

I don't know what this type of feed jam is called, but I'll try to describe it.

EAA Witness, Small frame steel, New .40 S&W conversion, Factory Win JHP.

The bullet moves up the feed ramp and then hits the top of the barrel and can't make the turn, down into the barrel?

The feed ramp has been polished and the lip of the mag has been opened up (the round used to just go straight into the feed ramp).

Is this because of the JHP? Would the updated mag release fix it?

I searched the forums and found things on "nose dives" and magazine problems but nothing on this.

I hope it's something stupid or simple. Yes I am a newbie to all this.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you. Jon

Hi Jumbo, and welcome!

Does the gun do this with all your mags or just one? I think mags lead to a lot of feeding issues that get overlooked.

Hi Kevin. They are new mags that came with the conversion. They are the "California" models with the plastic bottom. My 9mm mags have a metal bottom, so I don't know if these are cheap versions or not.

Here's a pic of the jam:

post-35458-0-92445000-1321573997_thumb.j

this looks very similiar to the problem I had. It was caused by a combination of factors...the breach face needed polishing, and the extractor tension was too strong. I also polished the front to bottom edge of the extractor and the inside rim of the extractor so the brass move easier as it loaded into the chamber.

I had the same type of issue with my CZSP01 in 9mm. The Remington UMC rounds were shorter than the Winchester White box i normally used, and they would jam. You may need to find a brand of ammo that's a tad bit longer. that's my only experience with CZ and this type of jam.

DSCF1485.jpg

DSCF1484.jpg

DSCF1479.jpg

DSCF1476.jpg

DSCF1474.jpg

It looks like the shell is having a hard time sliding under the extractor.

Is it normal that an out-of-the-box kit need this much work?