Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

A last question before buying a CZ

walsh

Okay...I have to s**t or get off the pot. I spent 3 hrs at the range tonight with my HK P2000 and Sig 229 and they are great self-defense guns, but they pale in comparison to shooting my Kimber CDP II accurately. The triggers just don't cut it.

My shooting will be, in most competition, IDPA. Any reason to look at anything but this CZ for production?

CZ Shadow T

If I were to shoot USPSA the firing pin removal makes it illegal for Production. I'm not about to win anything as I'm just starting out going from practicing combat shooting for a few years to precision shooting. If I had to shoot in another class at a USPSA event with this gun would it be any big deal to move to that division being green with better shooters?

Thanks for any tips,

Walsh

Edited by walsh

My CZ SP01 Shadow Custom does not have a firing pin block, nor does my friends SP01 Shadow Target. My wife's 75B had one. Cajun Gun Works has a reduced power firing pin block spring that reduces the effort to lift the firing pin block if you have one.

The CZ makes an excellent prodution gun as does the M&P Pro, Glock 35 and a few other tupperware contenders. The Sig is more than accurate enough and Gray Guns does trigger work on them. The short coming of the Sig is the lack of a beaver tail and the bore line is higher than the CZ which produces an infetismally small amount of extra flip. I can say that I have both. Flip does not affect accuracy, taking shots when the sights are not there affects accuracy. Ben Stoeger is living proof that even the Beretta 92 in the right hands is an excellent Production gun.

Shooting the CZ in another division has the same handicap that other contenders have, minor scoring.