Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Ok to shoot my class 3 in matches?

Bill_J

Hi everyone,

A few questions....

Ive been working outside of the US for a few years and just moved back. So I sold off most of my guns other then my Class 3, AOW, and kept a few normal guns that would be hard to replace. Had to get down to one gun safe for storage while I was gone.

Thinking of shooting Tac Iron. I looked at the rules and did not see anything that would disallow it... but you guys know how it really works so figure its better to ask.

The only AR I own right now is my full auto M16 with a 12" barrel. I can put a silencer on it to bring it to 16" if need be.

Will I be okay showing up to a 3 gun match and shooting it only in semi auto?

Hope it is okay to toss in a shotgun question so I don't have to make 2 posts.

In the same type of situation with the shotgun. The only shotgun I have is a 14" Benelli entry gun. Would that be okay? Or do I need to spend a few $ and just pick up a used 1100 or 1187? I'm okay with doing that as I will want a backup shotgun for whatever I decide to go with in the end (thinking saiga).

I know going in I will be way under classed but I'm in it to catch back up and see what is new and shinny, have some fun. Get to shoot some other peoples equipment and figure out what I like. Then go spend the money on real gear, so it is only a short term 4 or 5 matches type of thing.

Thanks in advance for the help!

Bill

Yes you can use them in semi auto. You'll be way under classed as you mentioned.

Be aware that in many stages you will have to dump your guns into barrels and such. That might be a bit off-putting to do with a $12K M16.

Yes you can use them in semi auto. You'll be way under classed as you mentioned.

Be aware that in many stages you will have to dump your guns into barrels and such. That might be a bit off-putting to do with a $12K M16.

My 16 is a already beat up sear gun, so no problem on that getting banged about.