Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Para LDA in production??

pangris

I'm new to the sport, shooting a G17, but prefer the 1911 platform. I'm wondering how many people shoot Para LDAs in Production, and are happy about it...?

If I go this route, I'm also torn as to which direction to go - 9mm since it will be scored like that anyway, or .45 so that I know the steel will fall when it is supposed to fall :P

I don't "do" .40 S&W :o

Thoughts, experiences, opinions?

Thanks much!

I have the LDA in .40. I used it when I was bored and screwed around with production. If you get the trigger reworked it is as close to a 1911 as you'll ever get in a DA gun. The full steel frame kills recoil. I would go 9 over .45. The steel will go down.

If your trigger sucks, you need to contact Jim Anglin at jjanglin@msn.com who will make that trigger "sweet".  I have one and love it.

Which would make the gun illegal for use in IPSC PD, but still legal in USPSA PD.

I shot IPSC last year with an LDA, this year I switched to a CZ85. Two reasons for that, I'm in Canada and have to deal with 10 round mags and under IPSC rules that was always a hassle, secondly the long trigger pull. Its a sweet trigger but long, at least the CZ gives a short SA trigger after the first shot. Someday I'd love to try an USPSA LDA production gun just to see and feel the difference.

ipsc1

QUOTE (Gary Stevens @ Apr 23 2004, 02:11 PM)

If your trigger sucks, you need to contact Jim Anglin at jjanglin@msn.com who will make that trigger "sweet".  I have one and love it.

Which would make the gun illegal for use in IPSC PD, but still legal in USPSA PD.

Garfield, that is not necissarily true. If Jim would get you a sweet trigger by polishing and detailing the internal parts, it would still be OK for IPSC PD.

Pangris, I know two guys that shoot one. One of them is a really good shooter and he is very happy with it.