Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

The more I train, the worse I get

ktm300

I had taken a couple of months off due to family issues. The first match back was a local match with zero practice and did pretty darn well. I started practicing quite a bit and my practice times are moving in the correct direction. After about two weeks, I go to a match and have the worst finish I have had in a year. I think, OK just had a bad day. I spend two more weeks on the practice range, again my drill times are getting better and better. I go back to another match, I am no better, if anything I am worse. I miss a lot and I am slow. On my practice range I am shooing 6" steel at 15 yards with no trouble. I get to the match and miss a full size popper at 10 yards.

Stop thinking, start shooting. Empty your mind of all thoughts before the buzzer sounds. What is happening is that you are thinking "Man, I do this all the time in practice, and smoke 'em all, so this should be a piece of cake." Then the adrenaline takes over, makes time slow down (makes it seem like it's flying to you), and you try to go faster, to make up the time that you think you've lost (but haven't), and you start rushing shots. Another thing, stop watching other people (especially those faster and better) shoot for a while in the match. All you are gonna do by watching them is try to compete with them, and it will throw you off your game. Take your time, get your shots and points...Play the game your way, not someone else's way.

My .02....

Your first match back with no practice went well.

Perhaps because you had no expectations to live up to.

You just went about your business and did well.

Your performance will suffer if you push too hard.

Don't make it happen. Let it happen.