Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Gun Safe Recommendation

Husker95

My collection is getting large enough that i am ready to make the plunge and look for a safe. Would like to get some feedback from members about what to look for in a new safe......features, brand-names, fire ratings, lock styles, etc. I plan to keep the safe in my basement, my price limit is around 1500 and i have far more pistols than long guns. I have had some knowledgeable friends recommend American Security brand so will definitely look at those. I live in Colorado Springs/Pueblo area so if anyone has a local vendor they would recommend, please do so. Thanks.

Husker

+1 to the american security, i have the 30 gun model(500 lbs empty) it doesnt havethe concrete liningthat some do that offers morefire protection, butthen again i live across the street from a fire station, one detraction or note is that they use particle wood for shelving(i assume most if not all do the same thing) so if you are into stacking a lot of weight on the shleves, you might want to screw in some steel banding on the bottom of the shleves like i had to do once they cracked and failed on me to beef em up

With a $1500 budget you're probably going to have to compromise on either capacity or fire protection. Liberty makes a variety of models. The less expensive ones are still excellent quality and may meet your budget.

One other option is to see if you can find a used one on the local Craig's list. You may be able to get a deal but moving those suckers is a bit of a chore.

If you do a search on this forum you'll find many threads with safe recommendations.

Edited by XD Niner

I'm looking for a pistol - only safe as well. I'm not sure whether I'd be better off with a short safe with shelves/drawers, or a tall wall safe and door racks. What do people use when long guns aren't an issue?

Get one twice the size you think you need, regardless of the cost.

Excellent advice! Two other things to consider: