Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

need some training tips

joedodge

Hello all, im new to uspsa production. Ive been shooting our weekly matches for about 4 months, im ready to start training as i see anyone who is competitive trains. I need some tips to get started tho, im 5' 6" 155 pounds i have a bike i can ride a few miles a day or somtn ive cut fast food out of my diet. does anyone have any tips for training and exercise for competition. thanks so much.

The matt burkett videos are great and they are on sale this month. Steve andersons has a good training book and if you have not read brian enos book, it is a must read. Then besides the training material find some local guys to train with and help push you. But remember, have fun and enjoy yourself.

If you want to exercise to improve your game you need to look at what basic movements you are using. The most important thing is going to be stability. Having good core strength and upper body strength will help you keep on target. In general, try not to use weight machines. Free weights or body weight exercise will help increase your stability and core strength as well as create more functional strength.

Most movement at an event is going to be explosive fast sprints. Cardio can't hurt but very few matches are going to be an endurance challenge. If you like to ride your bike, incorporate some sprints into your ride. Go as hard as you can for about a minute and then take it easy for a minute or two, repeat a handful of times.

Hope this helps.

• 2 weeks later...

Flexibility is good as well- practicing full ROM squats has helped me get in and out of some low ports that others have had to get into the prone on. Core strength helps with balance and can help you be able to get farther leans past walls and whatnot.

• 1 month later...