Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

First attempt reloading

kasen

I just got my new 550b from Brian Enos and tried reloading .223 for the very first time, an absolute newbie. I'm having a problem understanding how the neck should be re-sized to accommodate the bullet. Here's what I've got going in order:

- Once shot Lake City brass head spaced in stage 1 of the press (case correctly fits into the headspace gauge)

- Next I trim in the (very expressive) Giraud Power Trimmer to 1.75 length

- Back into the 550 press for priming in stage 1

- Stage 2 powder drop works fine (but doesn't flare the neck like the 9mm powder drop does...)

- Stage 3 is the problem, here I'm supposed seat the bullet, which in this case is a Sierra .224 55grain SPT round.

The bullet does not come close to easily fitting into the case neck. Two questions for anyone nice enough to help me out:

1. Why is the bullet not easily fitting into the case for Stage 3? Because it's not a boat tail or because I've not setup the press correctly on the first two stages?

2. Does my process above so far make sense?

Thanks very much! :D

its not going to fit in the neck, but should be able to balance on top. if it fit easy into the neck, there wouldnt be enough tension to hold it and it would come out easy too. i dont load my .223 stuff on my dillon tho, just use a singel stage still, but i make sure to put a light chamfer on the inside of the case (you need to after trimming anyway)and even flat base bullets will sit in there enough to got into the seating die.

On the second ass through the press, in Station 1 I have a neck sizing die which also has a depriming pin. The neck sizing die goes inside the case to make surethe mouth is of sufficient size and not dented in at all. The depriming pin ensuresthat the flash hole is clear of (usually corn cobb media) anything.

Even with that, I still have to hold the bullet on top of the case and ride it upward until it has entered the seating die.