Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Loading Info For 40 Cal 135 Berry's

Trenavd

If you haven't already stocked up on Berry's plated 135 bullets you might consider jacketed bullets. I shoot minor with Zero's .40 165 gr hp over 3.3 gr of Clays and it feels like a 9mm and very accurate. Plated bullets are fine for IDPA but Production in USPSA requires longer shots which is when the jacketed bullets better accuracy becomes a real advantage. The Zero 165 gr. hp sells for about the same price as Berry's.

Steve

Uhh, Zero 165JHP's are A LOT more expensive than Berry's 135's. You just have to order from a reseller like Graf's or Cabela's instead of direct from Berry's. For a 2k lot, the per-k shipped prices are $69.45 vs. $49.86 (Graf's).

• 1 month later...

I have data for ranier 135 tcj. It should be similar, as long as you keep the correct OAL (Experienced reloaders, please correct me if I am wrong).I am new to reloading. (actually reloaded and my first set today. I still have all of my fingers, so i guess I was somewhat succesfull :D ) I was shooting speer 155 with 6.9 gr AA No.5. It was much more controllable than the Wal Mart Winchester 165 I have been shooting out of my Springfield XD 40 5". Avg vel of 850 fps. Smooth.

Anyway, I don't remember where I found this info, but here it is:

RAN 135 TCJ min

AA GR fps

2 6.1 1103

5 9.0 1160

7 10.6 1153

9 14.4 1232

RAN 135 TCJ max

2 6.8 1253

5 10.0

7 11.8

9 16.0

It appears that I am missing max vel. I probably omitted because I am also working min production loads.

PS If anybody else has some good production 40 loads (light bullets, slower powders), let us know.

Kevin

Reefteach,