Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New FTE issue

Jeff686

I just started having this FTE failure last weekend. At first we thought it was brass hitting the Cmore mount. As you can see, I replaced the Cmore with an Aimpoint.

It happens about once every 100 or so.

After returning home, I removed, inspected, and cleaned the extractor and ejector. Everything looks normal, but I'm not an expert.

The extractor has about 10k rounds on it.

Should I just replace it? Any other thoughts?

post-985-061500200 1286902666_thumb.jpg

I just started having this FTE failure last weekend. At first we thought it was brass hitting the Cmore mount. As you can see, I replaced the Cmore with an Aimpoint.

It happens about once every 100 or so.

After returning home, I removed, inspected, and cleaned the extractor and ejector. Everything looks normal, but I'm not an expert.

The extractor has about 10k rounds on it.

Should I just replace it? Any other thoughts?

post-985-061500200 1286902666_thumb.jpg

Replace the extractor spring....

JT

Jeff686, I'm not a auto type guy. The first thing I would look at something slowing the slide down, thumb, borderline loads and such. Extraction looks fine, do you have a extended ejector? Sorry not much help, I can tell you about the extractor on the other guns though. late rdd

JThompson is spot on..... That FTE example is a classic representation of what happens when the extractor spring is too weak. Replace the extractor spring and your FTE's should be resolved. Its also good practice to replace the extractor spring proactively every 10K rounds.

I went to Sears and got a couple sets of punches for a decent price. 1 set of standard punches and 1 set of roll pin punches. They look like they are nice and have been working great..

Edited by Nealio

• 1 month later...

So I got the new extractor spring installed. It was considerably stronger than the used one that came out.