Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New to USPSA

gorilladiver

Open questions to ALL

Just started shooting USPA at local gun club, this year. Using Glock 21. The question is if YOU were starting out New now in your life.

1) What gun, caliber, would you buy?

2) Is one brass caliber harder then another to buy for reloading? Supply and demand 9mm easier than 40 or 38super

It really depends on what divisions you want to shoot. If I were starting out today, I'd buy a .40 caliber XDM (or Glock or S&W M&P Pro) because it is a caliber that would let you shoot Production (you could make some really soft shooting minor loads if you reload) or Limited 10 with the same gun. That caliber would also work perfectly for Single Stack and Limited with a different gun.

Depends on what division you want to shoot. I'm a college student who can't afford much so I shoot Production. I shoot a Springfield XD9 Tactical (9mm).

In Production, everything is scored as minor so shooting a 45 auto isn't very ideal since everyone else will be shooting 9mm or 40 s&w with the reduced recoil compared to a 45 auto. Your also limited to 10rds in a mag. You can't do many upgrades compared to open so there's another reason for the more economical shooter like myself.

In Limited and Limited 10 there is a minor and major scoring factor. Here its better to have a 40 S&W or 45 auto so you can make the major power factor and get scored as major. Only main difference between Limited and Lim 10 is that in Lim 10 your limited to 10 rds a mag.

In open, these are your "Space"/"High Tech" looking guns. You can basically build your gun however you want and put any goodies you want on it.

1) What gun, caliber, would you buy?