Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

AR 15 right handed with left eye

fritzthemoose

hi everyone,

as i am a dom right hander but have nearly no sight on the right eye. so i am mainly shooting handguns and here mainly ipsc open. however a ar 15 would tempt me very much so i was wondering if there is a way to shoot a ar 15 right handed aiming with the left eye. a practical way that is and what modifications i would have to do

Disclaimer: I'm relatively new to an AR but I've got vision issues of my own and this has helped me....

You might want to consider a red dot sight - that will make it a lot easier because your head position is far less critical. An adjustable stock will also allow you to shorten the length of pull which also makes positioning easier.

Disclaimer: I'm relatively new to an AR but I've got vision issues of my own and this has helped me....

You might want to consider a red dot sight - that will make it a lot easier because your head position is far less critical. An adjustable stock will also allow you to shorten the length of pull which also makes positioning easier.

as i am nearly blind on the right eye a reddot would not work.

I am also blind in my right eye. And have poor vision in my left eye. It is correctable by eyeglasses. I forced myself to learn how to shoot left handed. Now it is natural. I shoot pistol right handed with my left eye and rifle/shotgun left handed. I have found that a red dot was the easiest to use mainly because you can look around the smaller Aimpoint or C-More to acquire the next target. That has been my biggest challenge. Finding the next target without looking outside of the scope. Problem is that a red dot is not the best for long distance. I have just switched to a 1x4 scope with a good clear field of vision and am working on learning how to use it and acquire targets thru it. It is somewhat of a challenge, but I am slowly figuring it out and actually starting to prefer it over my red dot. Good luck.