Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Why am I not as good with my G17 as I am with my Trojan?

slippp

A little background on me....I'm relatively new to shooting. I have been shooting for maybe 10 months, but just recently became a gun owner :) My first club match is this sunday!

So last time I went to the range to practice shooting, I brought both my guns. I have a G17 Gen4 and an STI Trojan.

I am actually pretty decent at target practice with my Trojan, but am atrocious with my G17. I have shot the G19 before and I am better with that.

The Trojan has a lighter trigger (3lb) and the Glock is maybe like 5-6lbs? I wasn't too fond of the pull, but I was trying to practice with it anyway. My grouping (if you could even call it that) was terrible. My main characteristic with the G17 was left side-oriented shots (I'm right handed) so I attributed that to anticipating the recoil...but even when I pulled EXTRA slow I was bad too. I think I actually got worse as I kept shooting it (lol).

I ordered a lighter trigger kit, and a Jager 13# recoil spring. I plan on bringing the G17 down to at least 3-4 lbs because I like lighter triggers. Obviously I'm doing something else wrong with the G17 (grip maybe?) but I honestly don't know.

Aside from that, what else would I be doing wrong with the G17 that I'm not doing with the STI? Is it just a mental thing? I will be going to the range tomorrow just for practice again, so I'd like some tips before then :P I will also get some pictures and post them so you can see the difference between my STI and my G17 groupings.

Only reason why I want to become better at shooting the G17 is because it's my home defense weapon, so obviously I don't want to miss my target.

Thanks for the help!