Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Need some info on Deck Load Capacity

I looked around on the web but could not get good clear information so here I am asking my Benos Brothers for help again.

I am having a hot tub installed next month. I am building a platform for it to sit on. It is about two feet off the ground so too high to use concrete. I am building it as a deck and need some info on beams, joists, etc.

If you can help, please shoot me a PM and I'll be more specific.

Thanks in advance

Kevin

Kevin, I'm no engineer, but I do know 1 thing ...... water weighs 8 pounds per gallon. So factor that into the weight of the hot tub, and don't forget the weight of the person(s) using the hot tub as well. It will definately need to be very sturdy.

Yeah...might be best to leave the water out. Kinda like lifting weights (it would be a lot easier if they weren't so heavy).

Seriously...you may have local building codes that spell that out? Your hot tub salesman might be able to point you toward that info.

Also, note that Conrad works at a place that makes those metal hangers and ties that are used in such applications. Careful though...he doesn't even know his bullet weight sometimes. roflol.gif

I wonder if "up in the air" means you also lose more heat energy ?

Chris, I already know the tub weighs 5000+ lbs. when full of water.

Kyle, My local building department approved a plan that I know is way too weak so they are not much help.

The tub sales guy said "just over build". So not much help either.

The only thing I have been able to gather from the web and a few other sources is to shoot for a live load of 100 PSF. I am trying to verify if that is accurate info and if my beam dimensions, joist dimensions and spacing, etc are in that range.

I work in a town that has a building inspector as well but all he would tell me is, "sounds like you will be fine".

I think I am fine also but I just would like to verify it.