Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Please Recommend a Timer

I am new to USPSA shooting, and my 10yo son and I are both shooting. I would like to get a timer and would appreciate any recommendations. Here are some things I think I would like:

I would like it to have a "par time" function so that when I am doing dryfire practice alone I can see if I can come in under a preset time.

In addition to practicing with my son each week, I also go to the range alone a couple of times per week. I would like it if there was a way to delay the time from the press of the "go button" (or whatever it's called) until the actual "start beep". I would like to be able to have the timer next to me at the range and be able to press the go button and get my hand back to a natural position before the start beep goes off.

Looking at Shooters Connection the CED7000 looks pretty popular. I can see that it has a par time function, but can't tell if there is any way to delay the starting beep. I'm not sure being able to delay the beep is possible with any of the timers?

Any thoughts or advice on features or a particular model of timer would really be appreciated.

Edited by drysideshooter

The CED 7000 has a number of different delay settings. For dry fire practice, I usually leave it on "Random" which picks a time between 3-5seconds before the beep. You can also set a specific, non-changing delay. The CED 7000 pretty much has all the bells and whistles you could ever possibly want (except the ability to download strings to a computer) the only down side is the screen is small and hard to read for those will aging eyes.

P.S. With the sensitivity turned all the way up and the timer attached to my wrist it will even pick up my gas powered airsoft gun (KSC G34).

Edited by blind bat