Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9mm load

Jan R.

Hi I'm a beginner and am looking for some help to start reloading 9mm. I have Montana Gold 124gr JHP, IMR 4756 and CCI small rifle primers. I was thinking of starting with 4.9 grains and 1.090 C.O.L.

Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Jan

Since you're a beginner, I hope I can be the first one to suggest that you get a reloading manual or two. Also, 9mm loads use small pistol primers, not small rifle. You may see people on here using small rifle for specialized loads, but if you have not loaded before, you definitely won't be developing any kind of load like that anytime soon.

Get a manual, start at the starting load and work up.

I use Montana Gold 124gr JHP with 4.3 grains of Universal Clays and (Federal or Winchester primers based on availability). OAL is set to 1.093 and I am getting around 1075 fps. It's a great managable load with low recoil for any 5 inch gun and yet enough to be over SSP or ESP power factor.

If you have small rifle use em. I have not been able to tell a significant difference across the chrono. I interchange them all the time.

If I had a load I used for 9x19 minor I would gladly share it with you but I don't.

So I will give you this advice instead and I mean it in the nicest way.

If you scroll down there is a thread on reloading, in it you will find a category for 9mm/38 cal. It is full of info.

Also you might try running a search for the components you are wanting to use say like"9mm with 124 gr bullet" and see where it gets ya.

I hope this helps ya find what you are looking for.

Mildot

I got all my reloading "beginner" info here, and from the powder manufacturer's websites. Both good resources.

Do an extensive search in the reloading forum for 9mm. LOTS of info.