Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New shooter

kgwld1

Well I think I'm going to take the plunge. I'm new to guns in general as of last may never even shot a gun. I have purchased since the a Kahr pm9, keltec p3at, Sig mosquito, Glock 19, Glock 26, and .22 conversions for the Glocks. I have also purchased a Remington 870 tactical, and a Smith and Wesson m&p AR 15.

I've taken quite a few classes from ice to black water to local classes. I have also purchased a Hornaday lock and load progressive press before I found this site and reload the calibers I have 9mm, .380, .223.

I Have a bunch of holsters from crossbred, comptac, Mitch Rosen etc. belts and vests, and mag holders.

What do I need to get started I have found a local club trying now to get involved and join. I think I'm ready I just don't want to embarrass myself.

Sorry just don't know how are what when it comes to Idpa I'm doing. Any help would be great.

Kevin

Don't worry about being embarrassed. Everyone is new at one point.

Which gun is your holsters for? Of the bunch you listed, I'm guessing the Glock 19 is the one you'll be using.

Have you emailed the local club? Find out when their next match is and go watch, but bring your equipment. You'll probably end up shooting. Most people do.

Kevin,

Don't worry about embarrasing yourself. You're gonna learn a lot and have fun. Everybody was new once.

Show up with the gun you like to shoot most (The Glock 19 or 26 would be good choices to start with), 3 mags, strong side hip holster, ear and eye protection, and a few boxes of ammo. Pay attention to the new shooter briefing, and ask questions about anything that's not clear.

You're gonna love it!

Koski