Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Browning A5 questions

frayluisfan

Hi, all.

Noob here with some questions on the shotgun portion of 3-gun. I've done some IPSC stuff before, and even participated in a couple of matches with a 2-gun stage--rifle + pistol. But I've never done 3-gun. I'm all signed up for one in April, to see if I will enjoy it. I'm thinking I probably will have a great time, but at this point I can't justify laying out a pile of money for a fun gun (3 kids, braces coming up, etc etc).

First question: Will a Browning A5 work as a temporary measure, at least until I have time to save up for a dedicated 3-gun shotty?

Do any of you have feedback on the Nordic Components magazine extensions? I'm thinking of a 3 or 4 round extension, but am a little concerned about how sturdy they are. I understand that you can't clamp a mag extension to the barrel of a Browning A5 because it will interfere with the cycling. If that's the case, will a 3 or 4-round extension be prone to being bonked out of alignment? Would I be better off with a 2-round extension?

Thanks to all for your input.

frayluisan

Hi, all.

Noob here with some questions on the shotgun portion of 3-gun. I've done some IPSC stuff before, and even participated in a couple of matches with a 2-gun stage--rifle + pistol. But I've never done 3-gun. I'm all signed up for one in April, to see if I will enjoy it. I'm thinking I probably will have a great time, but at this point I can't justify laying out a pile of money for a fun gun (3 kids, braces coming up, etc etc).

First question: Will a Browning A5 work as a temporary measure, at least until I have time to save up for a dedicated 3-gun shotty?