Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

slide problems- help would be greatly appreciated!

skorittnig

Hi all,

I have an STI Grandmaster- .38 super. This is my first season with the gun- it probably has between 1200 and 1600 rounds through it. I have been having some problems with it of late. First off, I clean the gun and mags after each shoot (thoroughly).

When pulling the slide back, and GENTLY releasing it forward, it travels forward in a stuttering motion. It only does this when slowly allowing it to travel forward. I have tried multiple lubricants, my recoil spring is in correctly, and it has the most skilled open shooters that I know scratching their heads. Does anyone have any ideas?

thanks,

shay

Take the gun apart, try sliding the reverse plug up and down the guide-rod (with spring). It's possible the spring is binding up between the rod and the reverse plug. If that is okay than re-assemble the gun without the spring and guide-rod and try moving the slide backward and forward, does it feel like something is binding up ?

If it feels weird then try it without the barrel. Basically just keep removing components until it stops the un-even movement.

One other thing; What recoil spring weight are you running and what lubricant are you using ?

Edited by BritinUSA

Shay, I will look at it for you if you remind me at the next match, I won't be at the local matches this weekend but should be at the next Schultz match.

Thanks Howard- I will definitely take you up on that!