Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Powder Drop Problem

Guest qstick

Guest qstick

I sat down at my loading desk tonight ready to load 4 or 500 rounds for a couple matches this weekend, but I cannot get a consistent drop from the powder measure. I am using a Dillon 550 and VVn320.

I have only loaded about 1000-1500 rounds, so I am still fairly new to reloading, but all my other loads have worked flawlessly.

There are 2 new variables...the first is this is my first time using once-fired brass. One batch is from Starch, and the other is from a very reliable local shooter, and the brass was only used in a STI. The other new variable is the EGW/Lee die. Using this die, I have noticed that it takes an increased pull of the handle when resizing, and the case seems to want to get "stuck" on the powder die when the ram is returning to the downward position. I am using one shot lube.

i was shooting for 4.8 grains. Previously I had been using 4.7, and i was getting that everytime from the powder drop. I adjusted the screw in the powder bar until I was getting 4.8 consistently, but could not duplicate the load with brass that hadn;t been through the powder die at least once. If I took a pc. of brass and ran it through the resizing die, then the powder die, I was getting a larger charge than if I took the same pc. of brass and continually kept using it to check the powder charge. I hope that made sense to someone???

The charge would vary from 4.7 up to 5.0, and it was usually the highest when checking with a pc. of brass that was being run through the press for the first time, as described above.

Any ideas as to what the problem might be? Tomorrow is my last night to try and get this done, so any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Zach

:huh: Weird.

That sort of thing usually doesn't happen with Dillon powder measures. The only thing that would make it do that would be static on the powder and measure (the clear plastic body) or gunk/lube inside the slider bar.