Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Just got my 550B...now questions?

TCB

I received my 550B from Brian the other day and have read threw the Lyman book allready and will be watching the video tonight. I still need to get components and was wondering how much I should have on hand. I'm wondering how much powder I need to load 1K of 45ACP if I am using 230gr FMJ bullets and N320 powder. I have been shooting Winchester white box 230gr and would like to load a similarly "feeling" round (but cleaner) I will be stocking up on this stuff as I can but it would be very helpfull to know what kind of ratio I need primers/bullets to powder. Will a LB of powder load 1K, 2K...? I have never done this before so thanks in advance for the info.

I will also be loading up 9MM for my Maw so the same info for that would be great...

Edited by TCB

I goggled grains to lbs it says 1 lb=7000 grains so find out what your load is and see how far a lb of powder will go, if you are loading 45 and 9 I would look to see if there was a powder that you could both use. Even though nothing else on your set up matches. You will need to change everything when changing calibers. I have around 10 lbs of powder, 7k primers, a bunch of brass, more is better.

A pound of powder has 7,000 grains. Divide your load into that and you'll know how many rounds a pound will load for your ammo. An example would be 7,000 divided by 4.5 for a 4.5 gr load equals 1,555 and a fraction, so you'd have over 1,500 rounds from a pound with that load.

Alan~^~