Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Please help me with your experience ? on equipment purchase

DeHammer

I have an opportunity to purchase a used Brazos .40 with the works built on an STI frame. I would be shooting this in limited. This gun is about 2 years old and I have been told it has approx. 300 rounds through it. Hard chrome, trigger job.....about a 2 lb. trigger, etc. I guess what usually comes with a gun Brazos would build.

This also would come with 4 tuned mags and a ghost holster for $2800.00 I have been told it's a fantastic deal.

I have been shooting IPSC & IDPA since August 2008. I am "B" in IPSC and "Expert" in IDPA. The questions are: Should I wait until I improve my skill level before buying a gun like this? Does this sound like a really good deal?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

I should tell you upfront that I'm sponsored by Brazos Custom Gunworks. I don't think that matters for what I'm going to tell you, but its probably fair to put it out there ;)

Two major points, then a couple of questions.

My experience has been that it pays to buy the right equipment the first time. A high quality pistol will allow you to advance in your shooting more quickly (possibly much more quickly) than a less expensive, but lower quality piece of gear. Various reasons for this - but generally, the higher quality piece will run better, shoot better, fit better, and shoot more accurately. This applies to any high quality piece of kit, not just the one in question. At B, you are more than ready to drive a "pro level" gun. Depending on what you're shooting now, it could actually make a 1 division difference in your performance, once you adjust (before anyone goes freaking out, read that "Depending" again).