Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Reloading 101

xxpmeric

Hi Guys,

I just started shooting lately, and just realized as all of you did that it would be astronomically economical to get into reloading my own ammo. So i'm basically new to reloading and seeking basic information regarding the subject. I'm actually still at the planning stage. I have done some research but haven't found some substantial materials to read, what i saw are mostly what you can call intermediate or advanced discussions/topics. Some are also very technical in nature, and leaves a lot of questions on my mind.

Could you guys suggest some 'Reloading for Dummies' kind of sites? Preferably with some illustrations and examples, and step by step process.

Thanks a lot!

i would suggest buying Lymans reloading manual. Also if you know somebody at the range that you could watch and see how it's done.

a single stage press will be slow but you'll learn more. a progressive press like the dillon 650 will be much faster but harder to understand when there is a problem.

Don't waste money on a single stage press - if you are going to be reloading any amount you will soon discover that a progressive is the only way to go and that Dillon is THE machine. There is a reloading video available on this site which might be a good way to start if you can't find somebody to work with.

Could not agree more w/Lynn re: find an experienced reloader willing to teach. Short of that, the Lyman book is quite good (though the IPSC chapter is rather dated since it still lists the old 175 power factor). You may also consider the very inexpensive Lee book for an intro. Read what you can before you spend anything on equipment.