Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Seeing the sights lift

Darianis

I have been shooting for many years, but only for the last few have I started taking an intrest in training. Well I want to be more accurate so I tried concentrating of watching the sights. I took a friends MKII out to the range and fired several hundred rounds through it. I basically ignored everything other than the sights. squesed the shots as carefully as I could and watched the sights. and basically this is what I found out.

puuuuuullll trigger.... shot breaks .... see the sights again as they start to settle back down... rince repete till eye strain took it's toll.

at 1st my friend swore I was blinking... so I had him stand where he could see and nope not blinking. If I'm not blinking and ignoring everything around me but the sights what else do I need to do?

Is it just a matter of keep doing this or is there some other method I need to be working on? I know it takes time but I want to make sure that I'm doing what I need to so that I'm not waisting my training time as I have vanishing little these days.

Thanks

Try shooting "Bill Drills", and you will eventually "see" the sights moving while also learning the rythym of your gun.

The short on bill drills is shoot 6 rounds as fast as you can WHILE GETTING CENTER ZONE HITS! Reload, then repeat.

I can see my sights moving now, and can call my shots, but it took about ten thousand rounds.

good luck,

kyle

it took me 10s of thousands of rounds before I started to see the "flash" sight picture I had heard of during 'double taps'. After a while you start to NOTICE what you have SEEN all along. You start to be aware of smaller and smaller fragments of time. The Grand Masters do not see anything you don't. What they do is COMPREHEND what we all see. It takes time and a lot of shooting. Sorry, nothing else will substitute.

...so I tried concentrating ...