Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New To Open

McDaddy

I just bought an older open class para in 38. super. The comp has two ports on top, and two small ports on the side. Does anyone have any recommendations for a starting load ? I don't know if I should start with a heavy bullet or not with the new lower power factor. I am new to the super, but have heard that people usually use a small rifle primer. Is this accurate? Thanks in advance.

McDaddy, as someone here once posted "handloads are like underwear, be careful who you share them with" Just remember each gun is different, so start low and slowly work your way up. Crimp, OAL, and powder all make a difference.

I'd start with a 124-gr bullet 'cause you get a touch more leeway there before things go bad. You'll be trying anything and everything before long anyway.

Also pop on over to Jeff Maass site (http://home.columbus.rr.com/jmaass/) -- he's got tons of 'real-world' data there. Note that it may be wildly inaccurate and/or overpressure in your gun (especially if it doesn't have a ramped barrel), but that's what chronos are for and it'll give you a good idea what some of the popular ending loads are (start lower)

To start, buy some 124 grain 9mm bullets, small rifle primers, and Vihtavuori Oy N350. Get a chronograph. Compare the maximum load in the Viht. pamphlet/web site with what people actually use as per Jeff Maas' list. Start low and work your way up to 165-170 power factor.

I pretty much second what Erik Warren said. Start with 125s. 115s are a little fussier about what powders can make major and keep the pressures reasonable.

I'd add IMR 4756 as an alternate to VV N350 in case you live someplace where VV powders are scarce (and don't want to pay obscene shipping fees). I have used IMR 7625 and it's soft shooting and clean but a little lacking in gas to make the comp work well - the recoil feels soft but the gun flips a bit more. If you're new to open though, you probably won't notice it.