Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shoot What You Carry...

Ron Ankeny

I have been shooting IDPA off and on (mostly off) for a couple of years. I have been shooting to win and my normal pistol is a high end 1911 in a Kydex holster with a dedicated cover garment. Today I tried something different. I wore the coat I usually wear, carried the pistol I usually carry (Kimber CDP Pro) in the holster I normally carry, and I used a little hotter ammunition in 230 grainers. Everyone thought I had flipped out because I am a gamer.

Well, the lightweight frame and short tube aren't as forgiving as the game gun and the holster is slow as molasses in January. The stiffer loads make the little Kimber kinda bark, but I have to admit I had a ball. There were only 15 shooters out (cold and windy) but I managed to do pretty well. Best of all, I have a little better idea of how my daily gear works and I actually have more confidence in it now than I had when I put it on before leaving the house this morning.

I mix it up a lot. I only have one dedicated CDP game gun. Everything else I carry or use for home defense. Good fun. All my ammo exeeds PF but not a lot mostly for wear and tear and economy purposes.

Glad you enjoyed it. There's a lot of folks that shoot IDPA with their carry guns. That's the spirit of the "game".

Mark

Full house ammo isn't bad if you shoot a bit of it. I do shoot what I carry, except for ammo, and I load H&G 200 LSWC at 850 so I am close.

I shoot what I carry - gun, holster, mag pouch, the hole nine yards. Like tightloop, at matches I run 200-gr. LSWCs at 850 fps - instead of 230-gr. in the low 800s with my Hydra Shok carry ammo.

That's what I did in IPSC Production from the get-go: my G19 with the 8lb trigger that I carry daily running max loads. It's a SUPER confidence builder.

Way to go Ron!