Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Clays International for 40 S&W

dB

I'm new to IPSC, have a Limcat 40 on order, just got my Dillon, was told Clays International was a good choice for powder by a very respectible shooter.

This is with 180gr lead cast FP.

I ordered 16 pounds from powdervalley.

I'm new to loading for pistol and 40SW "bad juju" combination I saw in one post response.

Today I read Jeff Maass's Loads List which has the warning "you are urged to avoid any load using Hodgdon CLAYS for IPSC-velocity .40S&W loads."  same for AA#2.

1) What do I do now?    Try to sell it at my gun club?

2) Searching the archives I find mention of "Clays" without a qualifier of if it is Universal, or not.  I'll assume they aren't talking about International.

3) Hodgdon's burn rate chart puts Int'l faster than Universal.   wonderful, and faster than AA#2.

4) Hodgdon has nothing for International and 40S&W.

I think I better not load this stuff.

thanks

I think I figured it out, if someone can confirm.

On the Hodgdon Burn Rate Chart it goes

3. TITEWAD

5. Hodgdon Clays

8 TiteGroup

12 Hodgdon (Clays) International

16 AA #2

21 Hodgdon (Clays) Universal

Jeff Maass's warning is about the 5th fastest "Clays", not all "Clays"???

I went to the range and alot of them are using Hodgdon International, one said he does

180 gr, OAL 1.2, 4.6 - 4.8 g for Jacketed rounds

for cast lead, .5 less.

sorry for the trouble.

This is Brian's reply to the same question from someone else on Matt Burkett's forum:

GhostDog            

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Danc,

Danc,