Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

45 Acp With Clays

jnorine

Hi Guys,

I've been reloading 45 acp for the past 5 years mainly with Bullseye and W 231 and just picked up a Lb of Clays. I started off with 3.7gr and a plated 230gr and it seems to shoot OK. Does anybody else out there have a good accuracy load for this powder? Most of my shooting is with a 5" Govt. Model.

Thanks,

Jim

I have burned many pounds of this powder in .45 ACP. Try 200 grain bullets - West Coast plated ones, over 4.5 grains of Clays. I load the RNs to 1.260 and SWCs to 1.240 w/ great results. Lead bullets of the same weight may require less powder while jacketed may require slightly more.

This is what I use for a Para P14.

200gr Lead Semi Wadcutter.

Start 3.6grains Clays = 765fps = 153.

Max 4.3 gr = 890fps = 180pf.

I found in this gun 4.1 = 860fps = 171pf was the best.

This was the average of 10 rounds. Extreme spread around 35fps. Hi - 876 Lo- 841. 841fps = 168pf. Which may go low at some matches. If you are going to use in competition go for the top load as none of mine went below 878fps = 175pf. ES was 41fps, the groups were a little tighter at 4.1grains.

For plinking, I have found 3.7gr Clays with Montana Gold 230gr CMJ to be extremly accurate in my single stack .45s(Colt, Kimber and Valtro).

For IPSC major, I load 4.0gr with the same bullet.

Thanks for all the responses. Actually, I'm currently using West Coast Bullets plated 230's and have thought of going to the 200's just to try them out. I still have just shy of 1000 of the 230's though and haven't been able to get out much so it could be a bit.

Thanks again,

Jim

I tried out 180s and 200s but found that 230s shoot much softer with less blast at major, IE I can shoot 230s faster.

I use 230gr. West Coast plated RN, at 1.25" with 3.8 gr. Clays, 738FPS, 169.7PF, SD is 8.

This is at 75 deg. F. out of a 5"Kimber singlestack, 12.5 Lb. recoil & 17 Lb. mainspring with a Wilson buffer.