Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Full Length Guide Rods

joenuclear

I did a search and didn't get any results so here goes...

Is there really any benefit to reliability with a Full Length Guide Rod? I understand the effect of the extra weight but I can't seem to believe the FLGR actually helps the gun function any better. Any thoughts?

I've never done any side by side testing, but since every competition or hopped up 1911 comes with full length guide rod, I'm guessing there's a good reason.  A full length rod only costs $15-20, so there's really no good reason not to have one.  

E

The extra weight of the rod definitely softens the felt recoil, especially the tungsten version. And, it just makes the gun feel smoother when it cycles. Unless the rules prohibited it, I wouldn't shoot a gun without one.

be

I started shooting, with a gun that came with a stock short guiderod.  Later, I purchased a "parts" gun, that came with a long guiderod.  I switched it into the gun that I was shooting, and the first time I racked the slide, it felt better.  Smoother.  I switched back and forth several times, and the difference was very noticable.  To be honest, I can't say that there was any change in the way it shot.  Since then, I only use the long guiderods.

Get one, or borrow one and try it.  If you think it makes a difference, it does.