Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Back in the day when CRT's were king, the Mitsubishi Diamond Pro series of CRTdisplay was considered the best with Sony Trinitron systems coming in second. The Diamond Pro was typically a monitor only with the capability to do high freq. scanning.

CRT TV's (with tuners and other consumer features) are really best made by Sony (I know you didn't want to hear that). The Sony CRT tube technology is still about the best out there. Their color circuitry for NTSC is also the best built/designed of all the eastern electronics.

Sad to say, but Sony still rules the writing electron finger (how CRT's work).

I am unaware of any complaints, at least with the customers I have dealt with. I am a Store Manager for Sears, and have yet to have one come back with problems or have dealt with an unhappy customer about one.

It is our step TV when someone doesn't want a LCD or Plasma but wants HD.

CRT TV's (with tuners and other consumer features) are really best made by Sony (I know you didn't want to hear that). The Sony CRT tube technology is still about the best out there. Their color circuitry for NTSC is also the best built/designed of all the eastern electronics.

Sad to say, but Sony still rules the writing electron finger (how CRT's work).

YEP. My Sony 32" has a picture almost as sharp as HD when a good quality signal is broadcast (some of the PBS stations do that). Most people don't realize the crappy analog picture is because the stations are sending a lousy image or pinching pennies on transmitter power.

Analaog TV is a very high performance medium......which is being killed off to sell a whole country full of people very expensive junk they don't really need.

Edited by bountyhunter

I think Samsung makes pretty decent LCD displays, but I do not like their CRT technology. Sony suck for other reasons, but no one makes a crt that has the same color quality. Sony rules for accuracy and chroma saturation without blooming.