Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Imr 7625 - How Does It React To Temp/humidity Changes

Jack Suber

I am new to Open and am using 7625 for my son's Open gun. We have a sweet load now that is clocking about 167PF. I starting wondering how IMR 7625 reacts to temp changes. Is this powder very sensitive to climatic changes? I plan to get his PF to around 169 but would that be cutting it close if it gets cold? We shoot in SC and I have been chronoing in 85 - 100 degree weather with humidity. Any feedback would be appreciated.

My very limited experience, at this point - and what I've been told by other folks with more experience - is that its one of those that can be reverse temperature sensitive (which is a phenomenon I still don't understand...). ie, as temperature decreases, velocity increases given the same charge of powder from the same lot.

I have an 8# jug of it, now, so I'll get to do more definitive experiments on this as the year drags on... ;) It may also depend pretty firmly on your gun and load dynamics, so... Best thing I can tell you is to test it in different conditions with normalized loads (ie, if you switch lots, make sure you find a load that matches the old one in the same conditions...)...

I have found it to be relatively stable over temp and humidity exhibiting maybe 1 PF difference over a 30F degree change, morning to afternoon. I no longer use it at all, though, due to the huge variation lot to lot. The variation was so big that I have one batch that only barely makes major with a full 38supercomp case.

Thanks for the feedback, everybody. So far, I have been very pleased with the consistency of the powder, velocity-wise. I am getting very low extreme spreads. I had heard about the inconsistency lot-to-lot. I bought an 8lb keg so I should be OK for a while. When I start a new keg of powder, I chrono anyway so I should catch any variances.