Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Need help with tru bor accuracy problem

Jimbo76

I have a STI Tru-Bor 2011 Pistol that does not seem to want to group. This was my back up gun that I just started shooting again and it only has about 5000 rounds through the barrel. At 25 yards it will put two shots in a 2 inch group and then they start going all over the target. Mainly vertically stringing. It has a new Cmore on it and everything is tight on the optics mount. Ammo I am using is hand loaded and tested on a steel master and shoots 2 inches at 25 yards. I never really shot this gun much, but my recollection is it was not super accurate from new. The barrel and comp are clean and as new just ultrasonically cleaned. Short of changing out the barrel does anyone have anything else to try to get this thing to group. It was mentioned to me that maybe the comp needs to be reamed larger. Just wondering if anyone had this kind of problem I am running out of ideas. Thanks in advance for any replies.

I had a grouping issue with my XC.  They changed the barrel link and put in a new slide stop.  It still doesn't shoot as tight a group as I'd like, but I also have my suspicions about the DPP.   FWIW, I don't notice any issues during matches, only trying to shoot groups off a rest at 25.

Yes, I hadaccuracy issues with my open gun. I check the barrel lug contact and it was a little uneven, the manufacture put in a new slide stop and that fix the issue. The slide stop was worn.

Edited by jwhittin

When I've had grouping issues, one of the guns the mount screws on the frame were loose enough to allow the mount to move up and down on recoil. The other time the barrel was chambered deeper than the ammo was. I stretched out the ammo from 1.110" to 1.170" and the grouping tightened up. Other than that I'd agree with the above and check the barrel link contact.