Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Classification within division?

engineerjet

I'm new to USPSA and I'd like to understand how the classification system works. I read the rules and how to get a classification and the rankings, which is fine. What I could not find an answer to was how it works within divisions.

The rules say "Firearm types are not separated within their respective divisions; all compete together without handicap. This does not apply to the power of the firearms as power is an element to be recognized and rewarded.

If everyone on a given day shoots the same qualifier, does that mean all the divisions compete with each other in terms of scoring? Or are the scores eventually separated and grouped based on division? 

So an example is 4 people shot Open, 4 shot limited and 4 shot CO, even though the results may be mixed (a limited shooter may shoot faster than an open shooter) when it comes to a classification, everyone is ranked within their division and not against other divisions. Is that right? Or no?

You're ranked within your division (Limited, Production, Open, etc) within the divisions, you have shooters ranging from GM to D.

Here's the breakdown according to %

The USPSA Classification System

Grand Master 95 to 100%
Master 85 to 94.9%
A Class 75 to 84.9%
B Class 60 to 74.9%
C Class 40 to 59.9%
D Class Below 40%

1 hour ago, engineerjet said:

The rules say "Firearm types are not separated within their respective divisions; all compete together without handicap. This does not apply to the power of the firearms as power is an element to be recognized and rewarded.

No, this is the weasel-wording IPSC / USPSA added to get around Jeff Cooper's "all firearms compete together equally" when they wanted separate divisions after competition pistol design went a direction they didn't like many years ago.