Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Glock Trigger Work...trigger Reset

rwmagnus

Okay I've been snapping in on the Glock stuff recently. Never thought I'd see the day but I'm a Glock owner. I say that because I've been playing in the revolver world for the past two years and prior to that I was a 1911 guy. I missed the whole Glock revolution during my sabbatical. Having shot only 3 or 4 Glocks I took the plunge. Guess I'm in the minority to say I like the Glock trigger! True any trigger can be cleaned up which brings me to this post.

I have a Ralph Sotelo trigger kit on the way for a G35, but wanted to know what options there are for cleaning up the trigger reset. I'd be interested in a faster reset. I'm still getting a handle on how the internals interact with each other but it doesn't look too complicated, just a bit different. I may break down and buy a DVD to shorten the learning curve if there is a good one out there.

So what can be done to get a quicker reset?

Edited by rwmagnus

You may want to try a couple triggers that have had the reset played with. IMHO it is not worth the hassle/risk to modify it. It is possible to shorten the reset and have it still work 100%, but after having shot several with shortened resets I dont personally think it is worth it. Since you have Ralph's trigger, I would highly recommend you call him and get his thoughts on the issue.

I had the same concern, and my first email was to Ralph himself. He responded immediately, and I will try to summarize what he said. Email Ralph and he'll give you the exact scoop.

First, if you have a reduced power striker spring, replace that with a heavier or stock striker spring.

Second, if you are running a lighter weight recoil spring, bump up the weight or go with stock.

Third, you can replace the heavier trigger-return [?] spring with the stock spring.