Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

38 Special loads in .357 case

ARK

I am new to revolver reloading, trying to develop light steel challenge load for my Ruger GP100 .357 Magnum using powders I have on hand from shortage times when we were getting what we could not what we wanted. The question I have for experienced Revolveros  out there is:

When you load 38 Special loads into .357 case, can you seat bullet to 38 Special seating depth?

2 hours ago, ARK said:

I am new to revolver reloading, trying to develop light steel challenge load for my Ruger GP100 .357 Magnum using powders I have on hand from shortage times when we were getting what we could not what we wanted. The question I have for experienced Revolveros  out there is:

When you load 38 Special loads into .357 case, can you seat bullet to 38 Special seating depth?

I wouldn't do that.

What you're asking though - about a reduced power load in magnum brass - is something I do frequently in 44 Mag. In fact, I don't own or load any 44 special brass. I use upper-end 44 special load data and forget about it.

My reasoning is simple. in 44, magnum brass is FAR more common than special brass. I wouldn't do this in 38/357 because 38 special brass is so common. 

In the most technical sense, you could likely do that.  You most likely do not want to however.

There would be a gap between the case mouth and the bullet making loading the cartridges into the chambers more difficult.  You also will not be able top crimp the bullet, though youo could crimp the case.  The bullet running into the crimped case mouth will not likely enhance accuracy.

Best top seat the bullets with relation to the crimping groove and case mouth.  So, longer OAL for the 357 Magnum cases,.