Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

ISMI 15 vs 13 # length for Gen 5

Zoomie517

Need some help from the vets here please. Running a Double Diamond Tungsten Rod and 15# ISMI Spring in my 34/5. 

I called and ordered a 13# spring and was clear that it was for a Gen 5. The 13 arrived and is shorter by a little over a 1/4 inch. 

Is this a gen 4 spring or did ISMI just clip a couple of coils to spec 13 #’s? 

Thanks in advance. 

I don’t run ISMI springs, and I’m not a spring expert.  I run wolf in my glocks and have learned that spring length is dependent on weight, and springs compress with use.

FWIW I run 12lb wolf in all my gen4  and gen5, change them every 3,000 rnds.  

Edited by CharlieD

Thank you! I’m not a machinist nor a mechanical engineer. From my ignorant perspective, it seems that identical wire is used and then coil number varies depending on spring weight. 

Shooting my first Steel Challenge today and breaking the First Commandment of match shooting. 

“Thou shalt not make changes prior to a match without testing. 

OK. Let’s be an idiot and try anyway. 

It's my understanding that springs are sometimes shorter or longer depending on wieght and manufacturer. I've seen heavier springs be shorter than lighter ones by the same company even when both were new. 

I wouldn't worry about it. 

FWIW, I run the same set up and it's been 💯!

Edited by B_RAD

4 hours ago, CharlieD said:

1 hour ago, B_RAD said:

It's my understanding that springs are sometimes shorter or longer depending on wieght and manufacturer. I've seen heavier springs be shorter than lighter ones by the same company even when both were new. 

I wouldn't worry about it. 

FWIW, I run the same set up and it's been 💯!

Thank you!