Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New 3 Gunner In Ca - Kel-tec Su-16ca Rifle?

dtx

Hi!

I live in California, and I'm looking for a rifle to use for 3 gun competitions. I have a Bushmaster AR, but since I can never ever get another one, I can't bring myself to subject it to the torture of competition.

Because I'm a total newbie to 3 gunning, I'm looking for a relatively inexpensive rifle I can have a little fun with and that I don't have to freak out over if it gets dropped in the dirt. I've found a couple of choices, the most prominent ones being the Mini 14 and the Kel-Tec CA compliant version of their SU carbine. I've handled Minis, and I really don't care for them. I'd love to get something like the Robinson M96 CA legal rifle, but I'm not in a position to spend $1,600.00 right now.

I see a few advantages to the Kel-Tec:

- It takes AR mags. I have a bunch of 30 round thermolds that I stockpiled just before the ban.

- It weighs less than 5 pounds.

- I've heard, but have not experienced first hand, that it is better out of the box than the Mini.

- It comes with a rail.

- Holding 2 mags in the stock keeps some clutter off my belt.

Anyone have experience with these? I could imagine they might show up sometimes at CA matches. I'll probably throw a Simmons 1.5-5x20 Pro-Diamond on there and call it a day. If there are some easy mods to help with the trigger or accuracy, I would certainly consider them. Any advice/experiences/cautions/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

post-6451-1125570480_thumb.jpg

Use the Bushy, it's not that special, really! The torture of competition ain't gonna hurt it one bit ;-)

You can replace pretty much every part on it and the receiver ain't gonna wear out (it's the only part you can't buy).

Forget about anything but an AR if you already have an AR. Nothing else will even come close, ever!

--

Regards,

Like they said...use the AR.