Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Had a blast, what a neat match.

The best match for props, stages and scenery I have ever shot including the US FGN match in 03. Also the worst I ever shot in a match since I started shooting IDPA in 1998. Only performance comes close is Area 6 2002 where my best two stages had a miss and an extra reload in them.

The good:

Picturesque range, up in the mountains. Great Weather, cool about 55ish, and sunny. Gracious hosts, bordering on incredible. Tenderloin steak sandwiches for lunch. The stages were like I would expect at the World Shoot, some short and complex, others really long and drawn out.

The match had a super hero theme. There were professionally painted huge 6' posters of super heros on every bay.

We shot a lot. There were only four shooters on my squad, so you were eitehr shooting, loading mags or getting ready all the time. 18 stages in two days. Hell, we were done both days by lunch time.

There was a suspension bridge, and about a 55 Chevy in a stage.

There was a "low cooper" tunnel, Miguel Reznicek put it up, it's like a football drill with the tires, you step over the sticks rather than run under them. We called it the "Reznicek tunnel". Of course this stage also had a regular Cooper tunnel, and a real honest to God Railroad handcart!!! (They call them a zorra) Who has even seen one of these in real life? You had to pump the thing and ride it past targets, it was unbelievable. Look for photos of this stage in Front Site.

They had a DARK house, as in NO light. And yes, open gun blast does make "dark adapted" eyes a thing of pure fantasy. Try point shooting around no shoots when you can't even make out the no shoots. As John Boy and Billy would say..."How'd that work out"......."not too good!"

They had a vibrating horse (requiring hours of "walkthrough" time to fully enjoy :rolleyes: ) you mounted and shot a speed shoot from.