Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Newbie Question about handbooks

thejez

I am new to reloading and so I need some source of load data.  How important is it to have the latest edition of these loading handbooks?  I can buy the edition before the latest for pretty cheap.  I only load 9mm right now so my needs are pretty simple I guess.  Or perhaps I don't need a handbook at all?  Are there better ways to get load data than a book?

thanks in advance.  

There are many ways to find load data. The powder manufacturer usually has a website that has their load data on it...

As for the book, the previous edition will be a great reference...while it may not have 100% of the current loads people are using. 

2 hours ago, GrumpyOne said:

There are many ways to find load data. The powder manufacturer usually has a website that has their load data on it...

As for the book, the previous edition will be a great reference...while it may not have 100% of the current loads people are using. 

excellent.  thanks for the help.

I am relatively new also and I found these sites very helpful

http://www.hodgdonreloading.com

http://www.alliantpowder.com/reloaders/default.aspx?page=/reloaders/RecipeList.aspx&gtypeid=1

http://www.reloadersnest.com/index.asp

http://www.castpics.net/LoadData/Freebies/RM/winchester.html

always cross reference, always double check. These were written by people and people make mistakes.  If you find two sources that differ go to a third source.  You are making small explosive devices so you want to do it as safely as possible.  

8 hours ago, thejez said:

I am new to reloading and so I need some source of load data.  How important is it to have the latest edition of these loading handbooks?  I can buy the edition before the latest for pretty cheap.  I only load 9mm right now so my needs are pretty simple I guess.  Or perhaps I don't need a handbook at all?  Are there better ways to get load data than a book?

thanks in advance.