Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shooter Ready?

Ron Ankeny

Considering all of the ammo that I have burned in the last year, one would think that I would have decreased reaction time considerably. A brief history goes like this. When I started using a timer about a year ago, I timed my reaction time and it was around .30...a bit slow. Well, after a year I noticed my reaction time was down to about .24 seconds.

I was watching Lenny in his IPSC Secrets film and his reaction time runs around .18 seconds. Grrr...if that muscle bound bundle of fast twitch muscle can react that fast, well then so can I.

Lemme back up. Even though I am new to IPSC I have considerable experience at PPC and NRA Action Pistol. Many years ago I refined the ability to relax and patiently wait for the buzzer with an uncluttered mind and with my visual awareness focused on the scoring area, my eyes prepared to transition to the sights.

Well, it occured to me that maybe I was clear out in the ozone layer and the buzzer was actually bringing me back to reality. I tried doing things differently this morning. After preparing and making ready, I cleared my mind, aligned the sights, then listened very intently for the very beginning of the audible tone. In other words, I prepared to react to the buzzer rather than just react in a random fashion. You guessed it, my reaction time went down to .20 seconds or less.

OK, so what is the proper technique when preparing to shoot. Do I relax and zone out and let the buzzer wake me up with a .24 reaction time, or do I listen intently and cut the reaction time down? I know the obvious answer is to turn up the hearing and react quicker, but I am wondering if there are any unseen pitfalls or snares to watch for. Thanks in advance for your suggestions.