Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Reloading...

ScottQ

I've been shooting USPSA for only a couple of months, shooting first my HK USP .40 cause it's what I had, and then my 9mm Springfield XD. Until this past week, I've been shooting purely in production, even using the HK .40 in Production instead of Limited-10, as it's a good reminder to keep getting good hits.

Well, my XD was off having some work done, and I had a new 1911 that I wanted to try out, so off I went to my first club match with my 1911. It was going to be my first time shooting Limited-10, and my first time with the 1911, Safariland holster, and 771 mag holders.

I'd watched Matt's video, had the holster adjusted so I was happy with it, had the mag holders adjusted just so, and I'd been practicing draws and reloads at home the night before, to get used to the new setup.

So I get up to the line, load a round from the 8 round mag in my pocket, and then load up the furthest back of the four 10 round mags I had on my belt. Only a 24 round stage, so I'll shoot 8, reload, shoot 8, reload, and shoot 8.

Well, the first 8 go just fine, and I reload and take the next 2 targets with 2 rounds each. Somehow my brain malfunctioned, and while moving to the next 2 targets I reloaded again. Well, that's ok, I have an extra mag, so I'm not worried, other than the small amount of time I lost on the unnecessary reload.

Then I get to the last reload, and reach my hand back to find nothing there. Imagine my surprise. Well, I had to dig my extra 8 round mag out of my pocket and load it to finish up the stage, which was NOT very good for the old timer.

What do you suppose I found when I got finished? Sitting there right on the front of my belt was a full magazine staring at me. I'd been shooting Production so much, in the heat of the moment I just passed that one by.

Lets just say that was not my smoothest stage. :)

Scott