Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Speaking of springs...

johnbu

This may sound odd, but

Well let me start by saying I'm a trained engineer and worked with processes for decades. A reliable, informative test is invaluable in determining the robustness of a process and to set a baseline against which changes (even wear) can be objectively compared. With pistols, I use the pencil test where a pencil is launched straight up, the height in DA and SA is measured. I've made the assumption that a higher launch will be indicative of greater ignition reliability. Increasing hammer spring rate does result in higher launches and things like rubbing the firing pin block (FPB) results in a lower launch.

However...changing the firing pin return spring from EG light to the factory one results in a lower launch. So there are factors that shift the test results. Using this test, I had determined a baseline for the factory gun, put in wolff 13# Spring and EG FP spring (only those changes) and got over a foot lower launchs. Adding xtreme sear, firing pin and titan hammer with polishing resulted in launch height replicating the factory configuration. That was done previously when setting the gun up.

Question 1 for the real experts (I'm just a tinkerer!): am I fooling myself playing with pencils?

Yesterday, in the same gun, put in a new wolff 13# hammer spring with EG light FP spring and measured launches getting the same heights as the baseline. Then put in a wolff 14# spring which is slightly thicker wire, but overall a fair bit shorter in free length. Then, with just that change, redid the launch test and found it was 3-4 inches LOWER in launching the same pencil. Yes, lower. I was expecting higher - duh! WTF?

I'm thinking they are the correct springs, coming from fresh 3 packs from wolff. The 13#'s are all longer, and have thinner wire.