Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

OK to seat a 223 bullet deeper after using Lee FCD?

Dustysa4

I'm pretty new to hand loading, so I just don't want to cause a problem that can be avoided. As the subject says, I've loaded 40 test rounds of various charges. They've all been kissed by a Lee FCD (collet style crimp). The pertinent data...

Rifle = stock Colt 6920

Bullet = Hornady 55gr FMJBT

Brass = WCC @ 1.750", reamed & uniformed

COAL = 2.260" average (so +/- .005")

Primer = CCI #400 SRP

Powder = Hodgdon H335

Some of the longer than average bullets are a tight fit in my PMAG's, and I'm thinking now that there probably isn't a need to have them loaded at the max SAAMI length. If it's a non-issue, I'd prefer to seat them deeper instead of pulling and starting over. But obviously, safety is a priority. The crimp die is set very light, and none of the bullets are crimped at the cannellure due to long OAL. I'm contemplating pressing them in to ~2.250" or so. Experience and opinions welcome.

On another note, I previously tested some of the above spec'd loads in the above rifle, with 24 grains of H335. This is a fair bit below the max load data in both the Lee and Lyman manual. I was getting great accuracy with this load, but also flattened primers. There was no other sign of pressure, so I'm not sure if the load is too hot, or if the bullet is in the lands or something?? Anyone else flattening primers below max load of H335? Again, experience and opinions welcomed. Thanks!

I have rerun bullets through the seating die and had no problems. If you wish, you can rerun them through the FCD as well. Are you sure the primers look flat? If you are well below max you should be OK. Can you post a picture of the primers?

I have rerun bullets through the seating die and had no problems. If you wish, you can rerun them through the FCD as well. Are you sure the primers look flat? If you are well below max you should be OK. Can you post a picture of the primers?